2017 Spring Election Guide

Following are races (opposed and unopposed) residents of Edgerton can expect to see on the general Spring Election 2017 ballot. The election will be held on April 4.

Edgerton: City Council (constituencies in Rock and Dane counties):

Voters within the city of Edgerton headed to the polls on April 4 will find two aldermanic races, both with candidates vying to fill the remaining one year of two-year terms, and three incumbents running unopposed, each of whom will be seeking to fill two-year terms.

corey-headshot screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-8-39-10-pm

District 2 race: Corey Steen (I), Debbie Olson


paul-davis anne

District 3 race: Paul Davis (I), Anne Radtke

Those in contest will include: District 2 incumbent Corey Steen who is running against challenger Debbie Olson. The race will determine who will fill the one-year remainder of the two-year term vacated by Dave Thomas in September of last year. Likewise, in District 3, incumbent Paul Davis will face challenger Anne Radtke, with that race also determining who will fill the remaining one year left on a two-year term vacated by Chris Wellnitz in November. Both vacancies were created through resignation.

Biographical information for each of the two candidates in contest in District 2, developed through candidate questionnaires, can be found here

Biographical information for each of the two candidates in contest in District 3, developed through candidate questionnaires, can be found here


matt-mcintyre-1col candy-crop Mark Well screen

Unopposed: Matt McIntyre (D-1), Candy Davis (D-2), Mark Wellnitz (D-3)

Incumbents running unopposed are: 10-term veteran (running for his 11th term) District 1 Alderperson Matt McIntyre, two-term District 2 office holder (running for a third term) Alderperson Candy Davis, and four-term District 3 office holder (running for a fifth term) Alderperson Mark Wellnitz.

Biographical information for each of the three aldermanic candidates running unopposed, developed through candidate questionnaires, can be found here.


Edgerton: Board of Education (constituencies in Rock, Dane and Jefferson counties):

amy-horn-delzer small_s-tronnes

  Amy Horn-Delzer               Sue Tronnes

Jordan Wileman           small__1_j-raymond

  Jordan Wileman                  Jon Raymond

Those voting for Edgerton Board of Education members will find the names of four incumbents placed on the ballot, all of whom are running unopposed. They are: Dr. Amy Horn-Delzer, Sue Tronnes, Jordan Wileman and Jon Raymond. All will fill three-year terms, with the exception of Raymond, who is finishing the one year remaining within a three-year term vacated by Steve Zartman through resignation in May of last year.

Biographical information developed through candidate questionnaires for each of the four can be found here.


Fulton: Town board:

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 4.05.14 PM farrington hull

     Evan Sayre        Scott Farrington      Kerry Hull

Three unopposed candidates will each be seeking reelection to two-year terms within the Fulton Town Board. They are, Chairperson Evan Sayre, and supervisors Scott Farrington and Kerry Hull.

Biographical information developed through candidate questionnaires for each of the three can be found here.


State Race: Department of Public Instruction (DPI) State Superintendent:

Tony_Evers 200px-Lowell_Holtz

    Tony Evers           Lowell Holtz

Two candidates will vie for the position of State Superintendent of Public Instruction which carries a four-year term. They are two-term incumbent Tony Evers and challenger Lowell E. Holtz, a former Whitnall School District superintendent, Greenfield. Voters will recall, albeit a low turnout (approximately 8 percent of the voting-aged population in Wisconsin), Evers received 70 percent of primary votes cast in February and Holtz received 23 percent.

Full bios for each candidate are here: Evers, Holtz.


State: Supreme Court:


Annette Ziegler

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Annette K. Ziegler, Middleton, is running unopposed. Information from her official bio states that she was born in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and received her bachelor’s degree in psychology and business administration from Hope College, Michigan, in 1986. She earned her law degree from Marquette University in 1989. She received Hope College’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2014. After graduation, Ziegler was in private practice, engaged in civil litigation. Before serving as a circuit court judge, she was an assistant United States attorney for the Eastern District of Wisconsin. She served as a Washington County circuit judge, coming to the bench first through appointment in 1997, and then election in 1998 and 2004. Ziegler sat as a Court of Appeals Judge, District II Court of Appeals Judicial Exchange Program, in 1999. As Justice, Ziegler is the chair of the Judicial Education Committee and is court liaison to the Board of Bar Examiners. She also serves on the Commission on Uniform State Laws. She served on the Governor’s Juvenile Justice Commission from 2011 to 2016. Her complete bio can be found here.


Wisconsin Court of Appeals District IV (including Rock and Dane counties):


Michael Fitzpatrick

With incumbent Paul B. Higginbotham filing a notification of non-candidacy, candidate Michael R. Fitzpatrick, Janesville, is running unopposed for the seat being vacated by Higginbotham, which carries a six-year term. Higginbotham began his term of service in 2003 and has served as a presiding judge since 2007. Fitzpatrick is currently a sitting circuit court judge in Rock County. Bio can be found here.


Rock County: Circuit Court Branch 6:


John Wood

Incumbent John M. Wood, Janesville, is running unopposed. The length of term for circuit court judges is six years. Bio can be found here.